Get Latest Sports News, Schedule, Live Score & Fixtures only on Green Sports Pakistan

Pakistan set 140-run target for South Africa

Pakistan´s Mohammad Nawaz plays a shot that leads to his dismissal during the second Twenty20 international cricket match between South Africa and Pakistan at the Wanderers stadium in Johannesburg on April 12, 2021. — AFP

Pakistan on Monday set a 140-run target for South Africa in the second T20I at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg as the Men In Green eye a match win against the Proteas today to ensure they return home without a series defeat.

Pakistan reached a measly 140 for 9, courtesy Babar Azam’s 50 off 50 balls and Mohammad Hafeez’s 32 off 23. However, the rest of the batting lineup failed to produce many runs.

George Linde did the big damage in the Powerplay before Lizaad Williams, Sisanda Magala, and Tabraiz Shamsi joined in later on. 

In the last game, Pakistan beat South Africa by four wickets in an exciting first match of the four-match series at Johannesburg in the penultimate over of the game.

Read more: Pakistan win last-over thriller with 4 wickets to spare, up 1-0 in T20I series

They reached a target of 189 with just one ball to spare. It was also Pakistan’s 100th win in the shortest format of the game.

Man-of-the-match Mohammad Rizwan led Pakistan to victory with his unbeaten 74, comprising two sixes and nine fours.

Pakistan will be hoping that their middle-order gets firing in this game and sees Mohammad Hafeez among the runs.

The Pakistani bowling attack will be seeking to hit the right lengths after they failed to impress in the first game.

Read more: Babar Azam becomes fastest Pakistani to hit 6,000 T20I runs

South Africa are missing several of their regular players and, in the last game, handed a debut to three players — Wihan Lubbe, Sisanda Magala, and Lizaad Williams.

Five key players from the Proteas squad — Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, and Lungi Ngidi — departed for the Indian Premier League. Apart from their departure, the Proteas have also lost their regular limited-overs captain Temba Bavuma and their highest run-scorer of the ODI series Rassie van der Dussen.


South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (captain, wicketkeeper), Daryn Dupavillon, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Wihan Lubbe, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Migael Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Arshad Iqbal, Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood

(function (d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));