Get Latest Sports News, Schedule, Live Score & Fixtures only on Green Sports Pakistan

NZ, Australia, England to visit Bangladesh in 2021

The last half of 2021 will be eventful for Bangladesh at home as New Zealand, Australia and England are set to arrive.

2019 World Cup finalists England and New Zealand will tour Bangladesh. Photo: Getty Images


The year 2020 forced home Test series against Australia and New Zealand to be postponed. Both were part of World Test Championship. The rescheduled Australia series might see three T20Is. ODI World champions England will play three ODIs and as many T20Is around the same time.

Also Read – Nehra backs Kohli to score big in second Test

However, BCB CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury has said hosting a tri-series is yet to be decided.

“We are exploring many options. Several countries are expected to tour Bangladesh with Australia being one of them, The two boards have agreed in principle to play before T20 World Cup,” Nizamuddin told the reporters on Wednesday.

“No final decision has been made on tri-series yet. England, Australia and New Zealand will tour Bangladesh before the World Cup. Some will play only T20Is, some will play ODIs and T20Is. The fixtures are yet to be set officially.”

“We would have fit Tests if it was possible. [Playing T20Is] is a good preparation for World Cup. We are getting the opportunity to play against some high-profile teams,”

Australia last visited Bangladesh in 2017 while England did it in 2016. New Zealand have not played a bilateral series in Bangladesh since 2013.

Bangladesh missed WTC series against Pakistan (away, 1 Test), Sri Lanka (away), Australia and New Zealand (both at home) due to pandemic. After the series against West Indies, a tour to Sri Lanka will be the last for Tigers’ in the current championship cycle.

“These days matches are included in Test and ODI championships. The WTC final is slotted for June, so all the teams have to finish the matches by April. Previously, the deadline was March. Both countries will need to have a window for a series. Currently, Sri Lanka are free till April. The ones postponed will not be played again,” the BCB CEO confirmed.