Get Latest Sports News, Schedule, Live Score & Fixtures only on Green Sports Pakistan

New Zealand name squad for England Tests, WTC final | Sports News

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has named 20 men for three-Test tour in England which includes the World Test Championship final against India.

Kane Williamson’s New Zealand. Photo: Getty Images


Kane Williamson, one of the IPL players, has been named captain. Trent Boult, Kyle Jamieson and Mitchell Santner are the other three players in the squad who will take part in the IPL.

Also Read – Eventful KKR warm-up game for Shakib

The four men’s availability depends on when their respective IPL teams get knocked out. Some of them could miss the first Test against England starting from June 2 at Lord’s. The second Test will be played from June 10 at Edgbaston.

Rachin Ravindra and Jacob Duffy have earned maiden Test call-ups. Devon Conway, a South African born, is the other uncapped player in the squad. He made his T20I and ODI debuts for New Zealand in the 2020-21 home summer.

“Rachin’s been earmarked as a star of the future since his Under-19 days and we’ve been really encouraged by the advancement in his game this season, with both bat and ball. He’s obviously an opening option, but also has the ability to bat in the middle order which combined with his left-arm finger spin make him a great asset to our squad,” the Blackcaps coach Gary Stead said.

“Jacob’s been a consistent performer on the domestic circuit and his ability to swing the ball made him a particularly compelling option with a Dukes ball in English conditions.

“Test cricket really is the pinnacle of the game and I know both guys are extremely excited at the prospect of joining the team in England.”

Pacer Doug Bracewell has mad a return to the squad. He last played a Test in 2016.

The squad will be cut down to 15 for the WTC final, that will be held in Southampton from June 18 to 22.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Will Young.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));