Get Latest Sports News, Schedule, Live Score & Fixtures only on Green Sports Pakistan

England, Australia and West Indies stars confirmed for The Hundred 2021

More than 50 players have signed up for this summer’s The Hundred competition (Picture: ECB)

England, Australia and West Indies stars are among 57 male and female players confirmed for The Hundred competition this summer.

The men’s retention window – where teams could re-sign players who had been due to play for them in 2020 before the coronavirus pandemic – closed on Wednesday, with Australian one-day captain Aaron Finch, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and West Indies star Andre Russell among those to sign up.

The teams are also continuing to build their women’s squads with ICC Women’s World Cup winner Alex Hartley and England star Freya Davies among a number of new signings. The women’s teams can continue to sign players until June.

All eight men’s sides will pick the remainder of their squads in the upcoming Men’s Draft where 35 spaces will be up for grabs.

Full list of newly retained players for The Hundred

  • Birmingham Phoenix: Shaheen Afridi, Thea Brookes, Chris Cooke, Gwen Davies, Liam Livingstone, Isabelle Wong, Kane Williamson.
  • London Spirit: Charlie Dean, Mason Crane, Freya Davies, Joe Denly, Hannah Jones, Glenn Maxwell, Sophie Munro, Roelof Van Der Merwe, Mark Wood.
  • Manchester Originals: Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Ellie Threlkeld, Alex Hartley, Emma Lamb, Wayne Madsen, Matt Parkinson.
  • Northern Superchargers: Aaron Finch, Beth Langston, Brydon Carse, Chris Lynn, John Simpson, Linsey Smith, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.
  • Oval Invincibles: Sam Billings, Sarah Bryce, Alice Capsey, Laurie Evans, Jo Gardner, Will Jacks, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dane Van Niekerk.
  • Southern Brave: Amelia Kerr, Fi Morris, Craig Overton, Andre Russell, Marcus Stoinis, Ross Whiteley.
  • Trent Rockets: Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Cox, Lewis Gregory, Nancy Harman, Lucy Higham, D’Arcy Short, Luke Wood, Luke Wright.
  • Welsh Fire: Qais Ahmad, Amy Gordon, Ryan Higgins, David Payne, Liam Plunkett

Manchester Originals will be the busiest side with ten slots to fill, while Welsh Fire have seven. The picks, along with further women’s signings, will be announced throughout the day on February 23.

The Hundred will feature eight brand new teams from seven cities, with men’s and women’s competitions taking place side by side: Welsh Fire (Cardiff), Southern Brave (Southampton), Northern Superchargers (Leeds), London Spirit, Trent Rockets (Nottingham), Oval Invincibles (London), Manchester Originals and Birmingham Phoenix.

After signing up for The Hundred, New Zealand’s Williamson said: ‘I’m really pleased to be staying at Birmingham Phoenix.

More: Cricket

‘It’s always been great to play against Moeen [Ali] and Chris [Woakes] and it’ll be exciting to line up alongside them. You want to test yourself against the best and that’s what The Hundred is all about.’

Australia batsman Finch added: ‘I loved my time as a player at Yorkshire and I’m really looking forward to getting back up there and hopefully putting on a show.

‘We have a batting line-up that can do some damage and with some smart additions at the draft we should have a very strong squad.’

Follow Metro Sport across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more stories like this, check our sport page.

window.fbApi = (function () {

var fbApiInit = false;
var awaitingReady = [];

var notifyQ = function () {
var i = 0,
l = awaitingReady.length;
for (i = 0; i < l; i++) {

var ready = function (cb) {
if (fbApiInit) {
} else {

var checkLoaded = function () {
return fbApiInit;

window.fbAsyncInit = function () {
appId: '176908729004638',
xfbml: true,
version: 'v2.10'

fbApiInit = true;

return {
'ready' : ready,
'loaded' : checkLoaded


(function () {
function injectFBSDK() {
if ( window.fbApi && window.fbApi.loaded() ) return;

var d = document,
s = 'script',
id = 'facebook-jssdk';
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) {
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.async = true;
js.src = "";
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);

if ('object' === typeof metro) {
window.addEventListener('metro:scroll', injectFBSDK, {once: true});
} else {
window.addEventListener('DOMContentLoaded', injectFBSDK, {once: true});